Lost River State Park is located on 3,700 acres at the headwaters of the Lost River which flows from Mathias through the Lost River Valley and on to Sandy Ridge Mountain where it sinks below the earth and reemerges as the Cacapon River. It has a rich history, passing through the ownership of the Henry Lee and his sons, including Robert E Lee, the Alexanders, and the Carrs, all wealthy, military families. Under the ownership of the Carrs in the 1890s, the name of “Lee White Sulfur Springs” was given to the area, referring to the bicarbonate springs that were found on the land, thought to have healing qualities. This drew visitors to the area, prompting the construction of a hotel and cabins for visitors to use.
In the 1930s the Conservation Commission purchased the land , the Civilian Conservation Corps sent 200 boys and 26 supervisors to clean land, install telephone polls, create roads and bridges, landscape 45 acres, build 15 cabins, and start digging a 10,000 gallon reservoir. The park officially opened in 1937 and since then, has added and renovated cabins, a lodge, hiking trails, a pool, a museum, horse trails, and other outdoor recreation opportunities.
As of 2015, Lost Run had an economic significance of $2,023,544.